Update error 80242016 installing KB2952664 on Windows 7

Hello,

Covering how I sort the Windows update errors that I deal with is something that I have been meaning to do for a while.  While I don’t have time to provide solutions for previous errors I will try to document the new ones.

So, today I was updating my desktop PC running Windows 7 X64 Home Premium when I ran into the update fail error code 80242016 when installing update KB2952664.  Breaking it down, the update error code 80242016 is commonly due to a break in the internet connection while installing the update or possibly a firewall interrupting the install.

Update KB2952664 is a recommended update; therefore, don’t be too concerned.  In fact, you may wish to leave it altogether; the update helps Microsoft make improvements to the current operating system in order to ease the upgrade experience to the latest version of Windows; read more here.

To resolve the failed installation I searched for the failed update in Programs and Features/Installed Updates, then I right clicked the update and chose uninstall to remove the failed update.

Finally, I restated the PC and ran windows update again which found the same update.  So, I chose to install it again and it worked fine this time.

More info can be found on Microsoft Tech net here.

